Presence and mindfulness

Notice more

Those who know me, especially my elocution students, hear the words presence and mindfulness many times. My belief is we can hardly hope to achieve much if our minds are always preoccupied with matters we are not dealing with at the present moment.

We have to be aware of where we are, who we are with and how our mere presence impacts on those around us.

This is a practice we have to develop. A practice is  something you are ready to do and keep failing at to achieve its mastery.

Presence and mindfulness help us achieve a mastery over the self.

Physical exercise is a great way to start the practice. Every Saturday, I do my best to attend community yoga classes at the shine centre of the Africa yoga project.

Sometimes I run and at times, a month goes by when I fall out of practice. Another thing I do is visit websites that talk about positive thinking and how to achieve it. I did that today and came across a poem I would love to share with you.

Watch your thoughts, they become words.
Watch your words, they become actions.
Watch your actions, they become habits.
Watch your habits, they become your character.
Watch your character, it becomes your destiny.

To visit the website where I got the poem please click here

Leave a Reply

