I Feel Contended

As I was walking around

Chewing on a cob of maize

I felt contended

As I observed with my two eyes

A man struggling with a goat

I felt contended

As I smiled at the old tootheless

Lady who sells beadwork by the road

I felt contended

As I closed my eyes because

The dust and smoke at Ngong was too much

I felt contended

When I came home

To boiled ngwaci and nduma

I felt contended

When I think about forthcoming exams

And how much I have not read

I feel contended

Even though I have a headache

And the chirping of crickets is painful

I feel contended

3 thoughts on “I Feel Contended

Leave a Reply

